20

On Newsstands Now!

October_cover-Sm

DON’T MISS THE NEXT ISSUE!
Get a copy delivered to your door every month for just $19.95 a year or $34.95 for 2 years. Click here to subscribe.



For immediate release: June 7, 2010 - Contact: Henry Cabbage, 850-488-8843

The shoreline fishing license for Florida residents to catch saltwater fish

from shore or a structure affixed to shore cost $9 last year, but this year, it’s free beginning July 1.

The Florida Legislature repealed the shoreline license fee during the past session. However, legislators retained the license requirement to prevent a more-costly federal registration fee from taking effect in Florida.

Resident anglers who obtain the shoreline license over the phone or Internet still will have to pay a convenience fee to the vendor. The convenience fee is $2.31 for Internet sales at www.fl.wildlifelicense.com or $3.33 for phone sales at 888-FISH FLORIDA (888-347-4356).

Only Florida residents qualify for a no-cost shoreline license, and the license does not cover fishing from a boat or from land or a structure accessible only by boat. That requires a regular saltwater fishing license: $17 for residents; for nonresidents the cost is $17 for three days, $30 for seven days or $47 per year.

There are some exemptions for license requirements. More information is available at MyFWC.com/License.